IMG announces calendar of fashion events in Sydney, Australian Fashion Week May 13-17 2024.

Australian Fashion Week
(c) Cleo V | Australian Fashion Week

IMG, the owner and operator of Australian Fashion Week today announced its calendar of fashion events for 2024 in partnership with Destination NSW. Australian Fashion Week will take place May 13 – 17, 2024 in Sydney, and the Australian Fashion Laureate will take place in November 2024. The events were announced during South by Southwest (SXSW) at the Soho Residency in Sydney.

As Australia’s only international fashion trade event, Australian Fashion Week attracts over 33,000 attendees and participants across the five-day schedule including international buyers and media, industry, consumers, and crew. IMG will support designers in various capacities including runway shows, content, programming, special events and more. Australian Fashion Week’s integrated consumer offering will return, with tickets to a selection of runway shows and programming available in January 2024.

IMG’s continued partnership with Destination NSW will ensure Australian fashion’s continued growth and economic impact. With the support of Destination NSW and the New South Wales Government, IMG will waive designer participation fees for Australian Fashion Week in 2024. Designer applications for the 2024 event are now open here.

Natalie Xenita, Vice President-Managing Director of IMG Fashion Events and Properties Asia-Pacific said: “We are thrilled to announce this calendar of Australian fashion events for 2024. Australian Fashion Week in Sydney is recognised globally as a hub of inspiration and innovation. Fashion Weeks are connected by a worldwide consumer, and we are committed to innovating and leveraging our resources to support the industry, while amplifying talent on a global stage. Our continued partnership with Destination NSW will create further opportunities for Australian designers to showcase their creativity whilst igniting growth in our countries creative and retail industries.”

The Australian Fashion Laureate will take place in Sydney in November 2024. Established in 2008, the Australian Fashion Laureate takes place annually to celebrate excellence and highlight achievements in Australian design, sustainability, and leadership across the fashion industry. Previous Australian Fashion Laureate winners include Carla Zampatti, Akira Isogawa, Collette Dinnigan, Dion Lee, and Toni Maticevski, among others.

The New South Government is proud to support Australian Fashion Week and the Australian Fashion Laureate through its tourism and major events agency Destination NSW.

IMG has also opened applications for Next Gen, presented by DHL, Australian Fashion Week’s emerging designer program established in 1996. The prize is valued at over $100,000 and includes runway show production, a content package including runway photography and livestream, and international shipping credits provided by DHL.

IMG has assembled a prestigious panel of global industry experts to determine the Next Gen winners, including GQ Deputy Editorial Director and British GQ Head of Editorial Content Adam Baidawi, Vogue Australia Fashion Features Director Alice Birrell, model Aweng Chuol, David Jones General Manager womenswear, footwear and accessories Bridget Veals, RUSSH Publisher and Editor-in-Chief Jess Blanch, NET-A-PORTER Market Director Libby Page, Vogue contributor Luke Leitch, Song for the Mute designers Lyna Ty and Melvin Tanaya, Stylist and Fashion Consultant Kim Russell, IMG Fashion Events and Properties Director of Marketing and Programming Mitchell Harcourt, Marie Claire Australia Fashion Director Naomi Smith, Mob in Fashion founder Nathan McGuire, and Harper’s Bazaar Fashion News Director and WWD Correspondent Patty Huntington.

Next Gen applications are now open here and close on Sunday 19 November. Winners will be announced in February 2024.

In addition to Destination NSW, Australian Fashion Week is made possible through the support of Official Partners ALIVE, BYHEALTH, City of Sydney, DHL, eBay, Redken, S.Pellegrino, Simply Seated, SKYE Suites, The Volte and Wynns Coonawarra Estate.